Dubrovnik was founded in the first half of the 7th century by a group of refugees from Epidaurum (today's Cavtat). They established their settlement at the island and named it Laus. Opposite of that location, at the foot of Srđ Mountain, Slavs developed their own settlement under the name of Dubrovnik (named by "Dub" - type of wood). The settlements were separated by a channel which was filled in 12th century, present Placa or Stradun, and since than the two settlements have been united. At that time the city walls started to be built as a protection from different enemies (Arabs, Venetian, Macedonians, Serbs, etc.), who wanted to conquer Dubrovnik. The words "Non bene pro toto libertas venditur auro" - "Freedom is not to be sold, not for all the gold of the world" were inscribed long ago during the times of the Dubrovnik Republic. The small city of Dubrovnik succeeded in achieving a completely independent form of self-government based on political ingenuity, so that the Dubrovnik Republic remained a neutral, independent state for centuries.

Since 1979 Dubrovnik is in the register of UNESCO as a protected World heritage.

Particular mention should be made of the city's main street in the old historical center - Stradun, Rector's Palace, St. Blaise’s Church, Cathedral, three large monasteries, tCustom's Office and the City Hall.

The surface area of the City of Dubrovnik covers 143.35 km2.

The City of Dubrovnik is part of the Dubrovnik-Neretva County. It includes the settlements: Bosanka, Brsečine, Čajkovica, Čakovići, Donje Obuljeno, Dubravia, Dubrovnik, Gornje Obuljeno, Gromača, Kliševo, Knežica, Koločep, Komolac, Lopud, Ljubač, Mokošica, Mravinjac, Mrčevo, Nova Mokošica, Orašac, Osojnik, Petrovo selo, Pobrežje, Prijevor, Riđica, Rožat, Suđurađ, Sustjepan, Luka Šipanska, Šumet, Trsteno, and Zaton with its surrounding sea.

According to the 2001 Population Census, the population of this region was 43,770 (23,167 women, 20,603 men).


The geographical position of this region is typically Mediterranean with mild and wet winters, and hot and humid summers (2,600 hours of sunshine on average). The average annual precipitation is 1,250 mm, air temperature is 17º C, and summer sea temperature is 21º C. There are many sunny days during the winter months. The average summer air temperature is 25º C, made pleasant by the mild 'maestral' wind – a messenger of good weather, while the 'bura' and the 'jugo' generally blow during the colder months.

Flora and fauna

Our coastline is beautiful, dotted with bays, beaches, steep cliffs and many forested islands. There is a great variety of flora, predominantly cypress, pine and olive trees, as well as vineyards, lemon and orange plantations – together with aromatic herbs and flowers, including exotic plants such as palm trees, agave and cactus, which create a special atmosphere. Nature lovers will find a true Mediterranean landscape here, while those fond of sailing will discover a wonderful sea and marinas.


Croatia extends from the furthest eastern edges of the Alps in the north-west to the Pannonian lowlands and the banks of the Danube in the east; its central region is covered by the Dinara mountain range, and its southern parts end on the shores of the Adriatic Sea

Surface: The mainland covers 56,542 km2, and the territorial sea has a surface area of 31,067 km2.

Population: 4,437,460 inhabitants; composition of population: the majority are Croats; national minorities are Serbs, Slovenes, Hungarians, Bosnians, Italians, Czechs and others.

Government: multi-party parliamentary republic.

Capital: Zagreb (779,145 inhabitants), the economic, traffic, cultural and academic center of the country.

Coastline: 5,835 km of which 4,058 km is made up of islands, cliffs and reefs.

Number of islands, cliffs and reefs: 1,185; the largest islands are Krk and Cres; there are 50 inhabited islands.

Highest peak: Dinara - 1,831 m above sea level.

Climate: There are two climate zones in Croatia; a temperate continental climate, partially mountain-ranged prevails in the interior, while a pleasant Mediterranean climate prevails along the Adriatic coast with many sunny days; hot and dry summers, mild and humid winters. The average inland temperature: January 0 to 2°C, August 19 to 23°C; average maritime temperature: January 6 - 11°C, August 21 - 27 °C; winter sea temperature is 12°C in winter, and about 25°C in summer.

The telephone code for Croatia is +385 and for Dubrovnik and Dubrovnik Region dial (0)20.

Croatia's unit of currency is the Kuna (Kn.), which is divided into 100 lipa. Coins come in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 lipa, and 1, 2, and 5 Kuna. There are notes of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 and 1000 kuna. You can pay in Kuna at any place or for any service or product you use. In some places you can pay in Euro or dollars. Be sure to establish the method of payment in advance if you wish to pay in any other currency than Kuna.

Banks (banka) are generally open Monday to Friday 7.30 AM-7 PM (often with a break for lunch), and Saturday 7.30-11.30 AM. Money can also be changed in post offices, travel agencies and exchange bureaux (mjenjacnica), which have more flexible hours. Credit cards are generally accepted in hotels and restaurants, but be sure to ask before you order. You can also use ATMs to get cash. Many banks have ATMs in front of their building.

Dubrovnik walls